Poetry : Green Flowers

Green Flowers
                by Megha Bhartiya
Bordered with buds,
Presently and pleasantly rare.
Rarer with vitiligo on that livid skin,
Faded secondary colour in lack of care.
 
Mortal kleptomaniacs unaware of themselves 
casually pluck off green limbs from those green frames.
Some shred them for forgotten moments of vicious pleasure,
Some blow them away like dandelion seeds. 
Mortal kleptomaniacs fueled by curiosity, 
and yet unaware, 
casually pluck off the last vitiligo petal with disregard;
and now the green frame is bare. 
It wilts in lack of care akin to how a scolded child bows his head in shame. 
Another green flower on the ceaseless list of - the once extant - now extinct names.

Copyright 2021 Megha Bhartiya

I went through many of my drafts to choose what I felt like posting now, but nothing felt right. Then I found this piece among my edited drafts, something I'd completed a little more than a year ago. I remember rather vividly. I was coming back from an exam. The ride was very long, the type with moments you'd enjoy and moments you'd wish you teleported back home. So, in that roughly 2 hour ride I wrote this after seeing a small group of kids plucking leaves and thinking to myself "They're plucking green flowers.". That is how this piece was born and surprisingly, it is one of my favourite pieces. Yet again and rather unsurprisingly, it concerns itself with plants and nature, but more than that I was happy to put so much thought behind each word I chose and come up with something I like in record time (for myself hehe). More than a year has passed since I touched it, but as I read it again today I felt happy. I suppose it is only appropriate to post something I'm happy with during these last days of the year.

I feel like I have so much to say yet nothing to say either. What a year it has been. *dramatic sigh* Every time I log back onto WordPress I'm filled with a strange sense of peace, gratefulness yet also sadness. At peace because I enjoy my time here, grateful to the people here. The sadness stems from my inability to log in often. A few hours ago I talked to two friends of mine (both such amazing writers) and somehow all three of us sharing our grief about our writer's block and inability to write made me want to post immediately. Wonder how that works haha.
So here I am. This is no place for me to rant yet there is no other place either. So as this year ends, I hope and pray you are doing well. That you're happy and safe. At peace and with your loved ones. Achieving and chasing new dreams. That even as we've struggled, lost, cried and continued through this year, we continue to persist. That even as the next few months may not seem too bright, they'll dissolve into the past before we blink, and that the next time I'm here, I see only happy memories flooding my vision. =)


3 thoughts on “Poetry : Green Flowers

  1. This is a lovely piece, Megha! I was captivated and completely in the moment you created. I guess we are lucky you went back to look at this again and decided to share it. Now it makes me wonder what other great verses you are hiding away. But I do feel your pain when it comes to writer’s block. We all go through it. Just stay positive! Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so beautifully penned, M!❤️ The imagery is so vivid and lovely that one can’t help but admire your writing style. The thoughts that went into the careful selection of words is quite noticeable too. As I read through the poem, I felt this unusual yet peaceful calm dawn over me. Sometimes, these light-hearted pieces are all we need as readers as well as writers. So, thank you!❤️
    Also, don’t be bummed about the writer’s block. I’m sure you’ll battle your way through it!🌻 (Says the writer who’s facing the same thing….hehe)
    And I can’t help but wonder which friends you’re talking about! *furrows her brows together as she smiles also internally hopes her intuition is correct and that she doesn’t end up embarrassing herself* 🤭

    Ending this comment with my favourite lines from this piece-
    “Mortal kleptomaniacs fueled by curiosity,
    and yet unaware,
    casually pluck off the last vitiligo petal with disregard;
    and now the green frame is bare.
    It wilts in lack of care akin to how a scolded child bows his head in shame.
    Another green flower on the ceaseless list of – the once extant – now extinct names.”
    Ah, the sheer brilliance of your writing! And how can I not mention the word-play in the last line?! All hail the queen of puns!✨ *bows in reverence*

    Loads of love and panda hugs🐼❤️
    ~Riddhima

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment